Saturday, October 20, 2018 Medina 47°

Local Medina County News

Recounts do not change Nov. 7 election results in Medina County


MEDINA TWP. — There are no changes in the results of three close races from the Nov. 7 election that required an automatic recount, Medina County Board of Elections Director Carol Lawler said Tuesday.

Lawler, the elections board and employees manually recounted ballots Tuesday in one randomly selected precinct for each race: Hinckley and Litchfield township trustee and Rittman Exempted Village Board of Education.

One vote remained between candidates Jim Burns and Scott Harrison. Burns clinched one of two seats on the board of trustees, 977-976, over Harrison, according to certified results. Ballots filed in Hinckley Precinct A were recounted.

“The citizens of Hinckley have spoken and the populous vote has prevailed,” Burns said Tuesday. “I look forward to doing exceptional job for the next four years.

“I hope to exceed expectation of the citizens and focus on the community, its citizens and their relationship with the administration, further unifying the community that is divided by two school districts (Highland and Brunswick) and work with developers in the community while keeping the township’s treasured features of undeveloped spaces.”

Harrison previously told The Gazette he was excited to be a part of a close race.

“I will look forward to supporting the other individual the best I can,” he said.

Incumbent Trustee Raymond Schulte was re-elected with 1,557 votes.

In Litchfield Township, the race between candidates Charles Reynolds and Mike Setser were recounted because Reynolds defeated Setser by “less than half of 1 percent of the votes” — 251 to 247 — Lawler said.

The board randomly selected to recount ballots in Litchfield Precinct B.

Setser said Tuesday he didn’t expect the results to change.

“I accept the results,” Setser said. “I think Mr. Reynolds will do a fine job. In two years when another opening comes up, I’ll look to do things a little different and hopefully there will not be a recount.”

“I’ve lived in the township for more than 40 years,” Reynolds said. “I’m looking to do what’s in the best interest for the people that live in the township. I want to try to make a difference.”

Recounted results showed Rittman Exempted candidate Andrew Ballis defeated incumbent Walter F. Marquart by one vote, 499-498, according to certified results.

Incumbent Dale Hartzler and Abby Avery were elected to the school board with 792 and 591 votes, respectively.

Most of the school district is in Wayne County. Only two precincts are in Medina County: Guilford Township A and Wadsworth Township B. The close vote also required the Wayne County Board of Elections to conduct a recount, Lawler said.

Contact reporter Halee Heironimus at (330) 721-4012 or

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…