Wednesday, January 23, 2019 Medina 43°

Local Medina County News

Gazette staff nominated for state AP awards


COLUMBUS — Several Gazette writers and editors are finalists in the Ohio Associated Press Media Editors’ 2017 newspaper contest.

The awards in actual order of finish — first, second and third places — will be announced at the Ohio APME annual awards banquet March 24 in Columbus. The general excellence winners also will be announced then.

Finalists are:

  • best headline writer — Scott Kline;
  • best feature writer — Liz Sheaffer;
  • best sports feature writer — Albert Grindle and Rick Noland;
  • best sports writer — Albert Grindle and Rick Noland;
  • best sports enterprise — Albert Grindle, “Black River Streak”;
  • best special sports section — Albert Grindle, “Gazette Football Preview”;
  • best news photo — Halee Heironimus, “York Fire”;
  • best digital presence — staff.

Sixty-four daily newspapers submitted 1,922 entries in the contest, which featured news and sports stories, features, editorials, columns, graphics and photos from 2017.

The Gazette competed in Division II (newspapers with a daily circulation of 8,000 to 11,999) and entries were judged by editors from the Niagara-Gazette, Niagara Falls, N.Y., and Cadillac (Michigan) News.

The Associated Press is a not-for-profit news cooperative representing 1,400 newspapers and 5,000 broadcast stations in the United States.

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…