Thursday, May 23, 2019 Medina 64°

Local Medina County News

Medina County names transit chief

  • 23877544-1

    Shannon Rine


  • 23877535

    Commissioner Pat Geissman, center, swears in Medina County Recorder Pro Tempore Linda Bauer, right, Wednesday during the first commissioners’ meeting of 2019. Bauer said she felt like “queen for a day.” Commissioner Bill Hutson is standing behind Geissman, who is in a wheelchair after foot surgery.



MEDINA — Medina County commissioners took two months to find a new transit director.

After Mike Salamone announced his resignation Oct. 26 to take a similar job in Warren, commissioners found his replacement. Shannon Rine’s first day was Dec. 26.

The hiring was announced Wednesday. Commissioners selected Rine Dec. 21 during executive session.

“I am very excited to get Mr. Shannon Rine on board,” County Administrator Scott Miller said in a statement. “He brings a lot of experience and ideas to the position. I look forward to working with him.”

For the last two years, he held the position of general manager/safety director for Cleveland Lakefront Lines Coach USA.

Miller said Rine’s extensive experience with Ohio transit systems separated him from the other five candidates. He previously held positions with the Greater Dayton RTA, Central Ohio RTA and Stark Area RTA, where he held leadership and supervisory roles within the organizations.

He spent 14 years working at Walt Disney World in Orlando, Florida, where he held the positions of operations manager, and transportation training and safety manager. While in Orlando, he got his degree at Southeastern University.

Rine will make $34.62 an hour, which works out to a $72,009.60 a year.

“I look forward to leading the team that offers mobility freedom to the Medina County community,” he said. “We are excited about the new year and positive impacts we will make together.”

Rine said he’s a “people-first person.” He said he’s looking forward to working with his staff at Medina County Public Transit.

“We’ll continue to provide service as needed,” he said.

The Canton native said that could mean adjustments to some of the fixed routes.

Medina County Public Transit has 23 vehicles. Salamone said before he left there were 45 drivers, including 14 full-time. The MCPT’s yearly budget is about $1.8 million.

Rine said he will work to make the MCPT Medicaid certified, where the funds will flow directly to his agency.

He and his wife, Joanie, have college-age twin boys, Brian and Brandon.

In other news

  • The commissioners meeting Wednesday was Colleen Swedyk’s first as commissioner.
    “I’m certain she’ll do a great job as commissioner,” Commissioner Bill Hutson said.
    Pat Geissman has taken over as president of the board. Swedyk is vice president.
    “Hopefully, we’ll have a wonderful year,” Geissman said.
    Swedyk, 54, was county recorder for 12 years before winning in the general election Nov. 6.
  • Linda Bauer was sworn in as county recorder pro tempor to replace Swedyk. Bauer will be acting county recorder for about 10 days until the Republican Central Committee appoints a permanent recorder Jan. 12 at Williams on the Lake.
    “I feel like queen for a day,” Bauer said.
  • Dr. H.S. Sodiwal of Rolling Hills Animal Hospital, 714 Pearl Road, Brunswick, will handle dog spaying and neutering duties at the Medina County Animal Shelter for 2019. He will be paid $105 for neutering and $120 for spaying.
  • Geissman was designated as the official voting representative for Medina County on the County Commissioners Association of Ohio. Hutson will be the alternate.
  • Hutson was appointed the commissioners’ representative on the Ohio Public Works Commission District 9 Integrating Committee, and Swedyk will be the alternate. Andy Conrad will be the county engineer’s representative and Josh Wolf the county engineer’s alternate. Their terms expire May 23, 2021.
  • Alternates were named for commissioners if they are unable to attend the Medina County Planning Commission meetings. David Williams will represent Geissman, Tom James will represent Hutson and Kathleen DeLoss will represent Swedyk.
  • Adam Esker was appointed to the Audit Committee. His term expires Dec. 31, 2020.

Contact reporter Bob Finnan at

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…