Sunday, July 21, 2019 Medina 81°

Local Medina County News

Energy efforts earn Wadsworth a diamond designation


WADSWORTH — The city was recognized for its municipal electric power system this week, receiving a diamond level designation through the American Public Power Association.

“We received a diamond award, which is the highest honor,” Service Director Robert Patrick said during the regular City Council meeting Tuesday.

Patrick said only about 5 percent of the roughly 2,000 municipalities that hold what is known as an RP3 designation received it.

Patrick said the city made the decision to apply for RP3 designation a few years ago, and Wadsworth received a gold level designation at that time.

“Just yesterday it was announced that we received another award, so that (diamond) designation sticks with us for three years,” he said.

The awards were presented during the American Public Power Association’s annual Engineering & Operations Technical Conference in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

“Receiving an RP3 designation is a great honor,” Aaron Haderle, RP3 review panel chairman said in a statement Monday.

“Aside from demonstrating reliability, these designated utilities have shown commitment to system improvement, safety and developing a strong and sustainable workforce.”

Patrick said that recognition is based on those four categories.

Additional criteria include “sound business practices and a utility-wide commitment to safe and reliable delivery of electricity” according to the statement.

According to the city’s website, Wadsworth has owned and operated its own electric power distribution system since 1916.

Patrick said in December that the total cost of power to the city was roughly $22 million annually.

“We are able to choose our power supply portfolio, reinvest in our system to keep infrastructure strong, utilize the latest technologies, maintain award-winning reliability ratings and provide service offerings to the community,” Patrick said previously.

Other Ohio municipalities that hold a diamond designation include:

  • Bryan Municipal Utilities;
  • City of Cuyahoga Falls Electric Department;
  • City of Hamilton Electric Department;
  • City of Wapakoneta;
  • Cleveland Public Power;
  • Dover Municipal Utilities;
  • Hudson Public Power;
  • Piqua Power System;
  • Village of Versailles.
Contact reporter Nathan Havenner at
Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…