Sunday, October 21, 2018 Medina 35°


Election 2017: Most incumbents keep school board seats


The majority of school board incumbents running for re-election Tuesday retained their seats.

Buckeye school board member Kim Cecelich, however, was unable to hold off a challenge from longtime district employee Denise K. Piovarchy, and Cloverleaf’s Michael J. Maloney Jr. also lost his seat.

In the county’s seven school districts, several newcomers won seats on their boards. In Medina, Valerie Pavlik (3,642 votes) secured a seat along with incumbents Rob Skidmore (5,014) and Rebecca Parkhurst (4,276), according to unofficial results from the Medina County Board of Elections.

Pavlik will replace Tom Cahalan, who decided not to run for re-election.

Two other challengers, Melissa Malone and Matthew Collins, finished with 2,900 votes and 2,676 votes, respectively.

“It’s definitely an exciting time that voters put their trust in me,” Pavlik said. “I’m exited as this journey of tremendous responsibility begins and I am looking forward to working with all the district’s team members and the community. We want to make great things happen for every student, every day.”

She said many of her friends posted endorsements for her on Facebook, which she said was a huge help in the election.

“I’ve established a lot of connections in the district,” Pavlik said. “They knew who I am and what I stand for.”

She said she wants to bridge educators with the community and to support teachers who touch children’s lives everyday.

Pavlik also said she wants the board to use taxpayer money wisely.

“We want open communication and transparency,” she said. “We want to strive to promote respect and collaboration among all that is in the best interest of our students.”

Pavlik, a graduate of Highland High School and the Medina County Career Center, is a stay-at-home mom and a regional referee for USA Volleyball.

Skidmore, 47, a lawyer and title agent, has been on school board since 2013.

“Thank you for entrusting me with another term to serve on the Medina City School Board of Education,” Skidmore said in a statement. “What is most important is Medina City Schools and that we continue to give our kids the best education we can. I will do my best to be available to the citizens of our district and to work with the administration to move the district forward with its strategic plan and to pass the permanent replacement 5.2-mill levy which will allow our district to go four more years on the same property taxes from our district.”

Parkhurst, 44, an accountant, has been on the board for 2ᄑ years.

“Thank you to everyone who made it out to vote,” she said in a statement. “I appreciate everyone’s support. I am honored and humbled to serve as one of the community’s representatives to the Medina City Schools’ Board of Education. I look forward to continuing to move the district forward.”

Other races

  • Newcomers Matthew Clark and Daniel Sexton were uncontested for the two open seats on the Black River Board of Education. Clark had 1,214 votes and Sexton had 1,181 votes, according to unofficial results.
  • Newcomer Mary A. Weinhauer will join incumbents Tammy S. Schebek and Grant D. Relic on the Brunswick Board of Education. Weinhauer tallied 4,051 votes, Schebek had 3,684 and Relic had 4,028. Others seeking a seat were Tina Dame (3,110) and Phillip D. Frate (2,488).
  • Buckeye Board of Education member Cecelich will see her term in office come to an end this year after falling short in the five-way race for three seats with 1,306 votes. Piovarchy (2,125 votes), who has served the district in various capacities including as administrative assistant to the superintendent, will join incumbents Jon Stahl (1,413 votes) and Kenneth R. Barco (1,533 votes) on the board.
  • In the Cloverleaf school district, incumbent Jane Rych was re-elected to the board with 2,291 votes along with former board member James A. Curran with 2,087 votes and newcomer Jason Myers, 2,030 votes. Incumbent Michael J. Maloney Jr. fell short with 1,858 votes. Ryan Hunger, 1,409 votes, also sought a seat on the board.
  • Three Highland board members were unopposed for their seats: Robert W. Kelly, 3,421 votes; Diane K. Thomas, 3,319 votes; and Christopher Wolny, 3,143 votes.
  • On the Wadsworth Board of Education, incumbents Julie Batey and Amanda E. Gordon will be joined by newcomer Gary McComas. According to unofficial results, Batey had 2,393 votes; Gordon, 2,477; and McComas, 2,262. Other seeking a seat on the board were Chantelle Eggleton,1,110 votes; Bill Neiser, 1,390; and Natalie Sydorenko, 1,898.

Contact reporter Bob Finnan at (330) 721-4049 or Contact reporter Halee Heironimus at (330) 721-4012 or

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…